Municipal offices at stake at polls today

Published on Monday, 6 November 2017 22:36
Written by Skyler Frazer

Staff Writer

NEW BRITAIN - Today is Election Day, with polls open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

New Britain

In New Britain, voters will cast ballots for mayor as well as all 15 Common Council seats, five Board of Education seats, city clerk, tax collector, treasurer, three Board of Assessment Appeals positions and eight constables.

Incumbent Republican Mayor Erin Stewart is being challenged by Democrat Merrill Gay and petitioning candidate Al Mayo.

Thirty candidates are competing for the 15 Common Council seats, while six are looking to win the five seats on the school board.

Incumbent Republican Tax Collector Cheryl Blogoslawski is being challenged by Democratic candidate Lanette Spranzo-Macaruso and incumbent Republican Treasurer Mark DeGrandis faces Democrat Ron Jakubowski.

Four candidates, two Republicans and two Democrats, are competing for the three Board of Assessment Appeals positions.

Incumbent City Clerk Mark Bernacki is running unopposed, as are the eight candidates for constable.

As of Mnday, the city had 31,799 registered voters. Of that total, 15,825 are Democrats, 12,145 are unaffiliated, 3,324 are Republicans and 505 are registered as members of an “other” party.

Polling locations:

Ward 1 - Voting District 1: Vance Elementary School, 183 Vance St.

Ward 1 - Voting District 2: VFW Post 511 Hall, 41 Veterans Drive

Ward 1 - Voting District 15: Slade Middle School, 183 Steele St.

Ward 2 - Voting District 3: Roosevelt Early Learning Center, 40 Goodwin St.

Ward 2 - Voting District 6: Angelico’s Restaurant, 542 East Main St.

Ward 2 - Voting District 9: Chamberlain Elementary School, 120 Newington Ave.

Ward 3 - Voting District 5: New Britain Senior Center, 55 Pearl St.

Ward 3 - Voting District 5-1: School Apartments, 50 Bassett St.

Ward 3 - Voting District 5-2: Graham Apartments, 107 Martin Luther King Drive

Ward 3 - Voting District 7: Generale Ameglio, 13 Beaver St.

Ward 3 - Voting District 8: International Church, 40 Acorn St.

Ward 4 - Voting District 10: Saint Francis Church Hall, 1755 Stanley St.

Ward 4 - Voting District 11: Holmes Elementary School, 2150 Stanley St.

Ward 4 - Voting District 13: St. John Paul II School, 221 Farmington Ave.

Ward 5 - Voting District 4: Gaffney Elementary School, 322 Slater Road

Ward 5 - Voting District 12: Pulaski Middle School, 757 Farmington Ave.

Ward 5 - Voting District 14: DiLoreto Elementary and Middle School, 732 Slater Road


Up for election are mayor, six Town Council seats, six Board of Finance seats, one Board of Assessment Appeals seat, two police commissioners and four seats on the nonpartisan Board of Education.

Polling locations:

District 1: Emma Hart Willard School, 1088 Norton Road

District 2: American Legion Post 68, 154 Porters Pass

District 3: Richard D. Hubbard School, 139 Grove St.

District 4: Berlin Senior Center, 31 Colonial Drive

District 5: Mary E. Griswold School, 133 Heather Lane.


Residents will elect seven people to the Town Council, four to the Board of Education, two to the Board of Library Trustees and four constables.

Polling locations:

District 1: Linden Street School, 69 Linden St.

District 2: Our Lady of Mercy Parish Center, 19 South Canal St.

District 3: Toffolon School, 145 Northwest Drive

District 4: Wheeler School, 15 Cleveland Memorial Drive


Six Town Council, four Board of Finance, six Board of Education, four Planning and Zoning and three Water Commission seats are on the ballot

Polling locations:

District 1: South End School, Maxwell Noble Drive, Plantsville

District 2: JFK Middle School, 1071 S. Main St., Plantsville

District 3: Derynoski Elementary School, 240 Main St.

District 4: Hatton Elementary School, 50 Spring Lake Road

District 5: Flanders Elementary School, 100 Victoria Drive

District 6: DePaolo Middle School, 385 Pleasant St.

District 7: Kelley Elementary School, 501 Ridgewood Road

District 8: Thalberg Elementary School, 145 Dunham Road

District 9: The Tabernacle, 1445 West St.

District 10: Plantsville Elementary School, 70 Church St., Plantsville

District 11: Strong Elementary School, 820 Marion Ave., Plantsville

Staff writer Charlie Paullin contributed to this story.

Skyler Frazer can be reached at 860-801-5087 or by email at

Posted in New Britain Herald, Berlin, General News, New Britain, Plainville, Southington Herald on Monday, 6 November 2017 22:36. Updated: Monday, 6 November 2017 22:39.