Elected officials to be sworn in on Tuesday before meetings

Published on Thursday, 16 November 2017 23:10
Written by Charles Paullin

Staff Writer

BERLIN - Newly elected officials will be sworn into their offices on Nov. 21 in the Town Hall rotunda by the main entrance.

Town Clerk Kate Wall will swear each individual in as part of a program that will feature coffee and cake; musical performances by the Berlin High School Madrigal and McGee Middle School Spartan singers; and a benediction and invocation.

Mayor Mark Kaczysnki will be sworn in for his second term in the two-year position after defeating democratic challenger Richard Paskiewicz by more than 200 votes on Nov. 7.

Republican Councilor and former Deputy Mayor Brenden Luddy will be sworn in alongside new GOP members of the council Alex Gianonne and Amy Maier Daniele. Democratic councilors to be sworn in are Peter Rosso, Karen Pagliaro and JoAnn Angelico-Stetson. Paskiewicz could have used his votes toward a council seat and bumped a Democratic ticket mate out of their seat had he garnered more votes than one of them, but he didn’t. Petitioning candidate Craig Lentini, who would have taken a Republican seat, as that is the party he is registered with, didn’t receive enough votes to claim one either. Councilors serve two-year seats.

Republican Charles Paonessa did not get re-elected. Republican David Evans and Democrats Rachel Rochette and Kristin Campanelli did not run for re-election to focus on other things.

Democrat Joe Annuziata and Republican Paul Eshoo will be sworn in again as Police Commission members after defeating Demoratic hopeful newcomer Tony Legnani. Police commissioners serve four year terms.

Republican John Frink will be sworn in as a new Board of Assessment Appeals member after beating Democrat endorsed unaffiliated Stuart Topliff.

Board of Finance members Sam Lomaglio, Sal Bordonaro and Kevin Guite will be sworn in as members of the Republican party, as Mark Holmes, Gerry Paradis and John Richards will be sworn in as Democratic members. Lomaglio, Bordonaro and Paradis will serve four-year terms as Guite, Holmes and Richards will serve two-year terms.

Petitioning candidates for the non-partisan Board of Education Timothy Oakes and Kari Sassu will be re-sworn in as members of the Board of Ed., alongside new members to the board Richard Aroian and Fredreick Morley Jr.. Each member will serve three-year terms, except Morley Jr, who fills the vacancy of former Board of Education member Robin Evans, who had to step down from the board because she accepted a position within the school district and therefore cannot serve of the board at the same time.

Following the ceremony the Board of Finance will meet at 6:45 p.m. in the John “Doc” McIntosh room at Town Hall, 240 Kensington Road, and the Town Council will meet at 7 p.m. in the Town Council Chambers of Town Hall.

The council will also assign members to committees, appoint corporation counsel and appoint Temporary Town Manager Jack Healy as acting town manger.

The Board of Finance will elect a chairman and vice chairman during their meeting, as the council will appoint a deputy mayor.

Charles Paullin can be reached at 860-801-5074 or cpaullin@centralctcommunications.com. On Twitter: @CPaullinNBH.

Posted in New Britain Herald, Berlin on Thursday, 16 November 2017 23:10. Updated: Thursday, 16 November 2017 23:13.