Newest Kenney Scholars from area named, including 29 from New Britain, plus Newington, Berlin, Southington, Plainville

Published on Thursday, 26 August 2021 10:36
Written by Ciara Hooks


NEW BRITAIN – The American Savings Foundation Robert T. Kenney Scholarships have been awarded to 109 students, including 29 from New Britain who will be attending college in Connecticut and across the country.

The scholarships totaled $175,500 in support to mostly incoming freshmen, but also first-time scholarships to returning college students, as well as adult nontraditional students.

New recipients are eligible to re-apply for this scholarship each year, and most remain Robert T. Kenney Scholars throughout all four years of college. The foundation projects that a total of 382 Robert T. Kenney Scholars will receive a total of $800,000 for the 2021-2022 academic year.

“While so much has changed over the past year and a half, we are proud that the Robert T. Kenney Scholar Program continues to support local students as they pursue their dreams of a college education,” said Maria Falvo, president and CEO of the foundation. “As we celebrate our 25th anniversary, these scholars join a network of over 2,600 current and past Robert T. Kenney Scholars, and we are so proud to be part of their journey through college and beyond.”

More than $14 million in scholarships have been awarded by the foundation over the past 25 years. Robert T. Kenney Scholarships are awarded primarily based on financial need, with consideration given to academic performance, community involvement and other indications of a strong desire to achieve goals through education. This year, 72% of new scholars represent the first generation in their families to pursue a college degree.

“Despite the difficult year, all our Robert T. Kenney Scholars showed remarkable resiliency and were able to adapt.” said Heather Hokunson, the foundation’s scholarship program officer. “We have an additional 254 current scholars who are eligible to reapply. We want to do everything we can to make the renewal of their scholarship one less worry in the college process.”

The scholarship program was named in memory of Robert T. Kenney, whose original vision led to the creation of the American Savings Foundation.

The new 2021-2022 Robert T. Kenney Scholars include:


Michaela Ahern: University of Connecticut

Laila Almontaser: Tunxis Community College

Daniella Alvarado: University of Connecticut

Sarha Antonio: Central Connecticut State University

Awilda Baez: Central Connecticut State University

Joaquim Bahebura: University of New Haven

Gabriel Bermudez: University of Saint Joseph

Isyss Blanco: Central Connecticut State University

Nelsy Cespedes: Goodwin University

Liliana Cruz: Central Connecticut State University

Faith Dowou: University of Connecticut

Mohtashim Farooq: University of Connecticut

Marangelis Gonzalez: Tunxis Community College

Malic Green: Central Connecticut State University

Mia Kercado: Middlesex Community College

Maria Khan: Tunxis Community College

Natalia Kownacki: University of Saint Joseph

Aleksandra Milewska: University of Connecticut

Julitta Oliver: Albertus Magnus College

Angel Ramirez-Cortez: Central Connecticut State University

Jonathan Romero: University of Connecticut

Layla Sahoobah: New York University

Cindy Santiago: LIM College

Jade Shaheed: Central Connecticut State University

Thalia Singh: Central Connecticut State University

Jessica Taing: University of Connecticut

Isyss Timmons: University of Rhode Island

Piotr Trzcinski: Tunxis Community College

Adam Walega: Central Connecticut State University


Annalise Gormley: Savannah College of Art & Design

Jada Tardif: University of Saint Joseph


Sophia Maselli: Eastern Connecticut State University

Bree McCue: Post University


Kaitlyn Gagnon: Northeastern University

Aleksandra Konieczniak: University of Southern Maine

Holli Southall: Goodwin University


Erin Klem: Central Connecticut State University

Posted in New Britain Herald, Berlin, New Britain, Newington, Plainville, Southington Herald on Thursday, 26 August 2021 10:36. Updated: Thursday, 26 August 2021 10:38.