CCSU men's soccer founder Webster to be inducted into Connecticut Soccer Hall of Fame this month

Published on Wednesday, 2 January 2019 21:55
Written by

Staff report

John R. Webster, now a Newington resident, is one of six new members selected to be inducted into the Connecticut Soccer Hall of Fame later this month.

Webster was head men’s soccer coach at Central Connecticut State University for 16 years, 1969 through 1984.

He took on the challenge of starting the team in 1968 and built it into a formidable program during his tenure, with a 107-92-24 (.534) career record.

The early ’80s marked the pinnacle of Webster’s time at CCSU, as his teams had five consecutive winning seasons and reached No. 9 in the NCAA D-II national rankings during the 1984 season.

Many of his players achieved All-New England honors and one was twice named an NCAA Division II All-American.

Webster hired notable coaches as assistants to support his teams, including CT Hall of Famers Tony DiCicco and Frantz Innocent, as well as former NASL goalkeeper Tad Delorm.

Webster was the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s (NSCAA) Director of Film Library (1983-1985), an NSCAA Ethics Committee member (1984), site coordinator for the NEISL All-Star Soccer Game (1982-83), New England Ratings Board and National Ratings Board Member (1982-83) and served on the NCAA Championship Selection Committee (1983-84).

Webster is a member of the CCSU Athletic Hall of Fame (2004) and the Old Timers Athletic Association of Greater Danbury (2005). He received the CCSU Presidential Recognition Award on “Coach Webster Day” in 2000.

Webster and five others will be honored at the Connecticut Soccer Hall of Fame’s annual induction ceremony on Saturday, Jan. 26. The Class of 2019 will join the 163 members inducted since the CSHF was founded in 1999.

The event will take place at The Red Lion Hotel (formerly The Radisson) in Cromwell and is open to the public. Tickets are $50 per person and $25 for youth 12 and under. Information regarding tickets can be obtained by calling CSHF at (860) 306-6822.

Also being inducted are:

Greg Andrulis - a Litchfield native, MLS champion and college coach;

J.P. Dellacamera - a well-known national and international soccer broadcaster;

Erhardt Kapp - an outstanding UConn and national team player;

Rudolph Meredith - an SCSU national champion and former Yale women’s coach; and

Kathryn Schoepfer - a Waterford All-American and all-time scoring leader in Connecticut.

Posted in New Britain Herald, CCSU, Newington on Wednesday, 2 January 2019 21:55. Updated: Wednesday, 2 January 2019 21:58.