New Britain school district honors Educators of the Year

Published on Tuesday, 16 May 2017 21:17
Written by Skyler Frazer

Staff Writer

NEW BRITAIN - Educators and faculty members across New Britain were honored Monday evening at the first annual Excellence in Education Awards Ceremony.

“You are truly valued. You’re valued for the gifts and the talents that you bring, have brought, and will continue to give to our classrooms and our students,” Schools Superintendent Nancy Sarra said to the room of educators and administrators.

Patricia Cintorino from Vance Elementary School took home the Teacher of the Year Award for her commitment to education and helping her students.

“Mrs. Cintorino is a hard worker and caring professional who consistently puts children first,” said Vance Elementary Principal Sarah Harris. “She leads by example.”

Cintorino, a third grade teacher, will complete her 28th year of service in the city at the end of this school year.

“It’s easy to be a great teacher when you’re surrounded by so many wonderful teachers, wonderful administrators and great students,” Cintorino said in her brief acceptance speech.

Kevin Anderson from Chamberlain Elementary School, Martha Crawford from DiLoreto Elementary & Middle School, Erin Martin from Gaffney Elementary School, John Richard from HALS Academy, Sean Martin from Holmes Elementary School, Peter Bilger from Jefferson Elementary School, Claire Nolan from Lincoln Elementary School, Marisa Cartiera from New Britain High School, Carrie Ogdon Barbieri from the NBHS Satellite Careers Academy, Melissa Flaherty from Northend Elementary School, Julie Plaza from Pulaski Middle School, Ruth Miller-Serra from Slade Middle School, Linda Skoglund from Smalley Elementary School, and Todd Hougas from Smith Elementary School were honored with Teacher of the Year awards for their respective schools.

The Paraeducator of the Year Award went to Lincoln Elementary School’s Scott Rydecki.

“Mr. Rydecki does a great job establishing relationships with students,” administrators wrote about Rydecki. “His positive support to many of our students who need that extra reinforcement is invaluable.”

Stephanie Vann from Chamberlain Elementary School, Amalya Leonard from DiLoreto Elementary & Middle School, Lynn Marcantonio from Gaffney Elementary School, Dayma Silva from Holmes Elementary School, Betty Barden from Jefferson Elementary School, Carmen Perez from NBHS, Claudia Maier from Pulaski Middle School and Melissa Byron were honored with Paraeducator of the Year awards for their respective schools.

Before paraeducator and teacher of the year awards were handed out, Sarra gave out multiple Superintendent’s Pursuing Excellence Awards.

These awards have an extra personal touch to them as they were made by students in the Technical Education Program at New Britain High School. Thirty-nine Superintendent’s Pursuing Excellence Awards were handed out to members of Pulaski Middle School’s math team, New Britain High School’s Satellite Careers Academy and other staff and administrators who have excelled at their jobs this year.

The school district also honored 26 soon-to-be retired district employees with a combined 633 years of service in New Britain

“We know they’ll be thinking about us on the first day of school in August,” said Chief Talent Officer for the district Shauna Tucker.

Skyler Frazer can be reached at 860-801-5087 or by email at

Posted in New Britain Herald, General News, New Britain on Tuesday, 16 May 2017 21:17. Updated: Tuesday, 16 May 2017 21:19.