Plainville Republicans keep majority after high turnout

Published on Tuesday, 7 November 2017 21:54
Written by Brian Johnson

Staff Writer

PLAINVILLE - Plainville Republicans maintained their slight Town Council majority Tuesday night after a high voter turnout.

In Plainville, the victorious Town Council members included Republicans Kathy Pugliese, Scott Saunders, Deb Tompkins and council newcomer Ty Cox. Democrats elected were Rosemary Morante, Chris Wazorko and council newcomer Jesse Gnazzo.

Overall voter turnout was about 30 percent, according to Councilor Scott Saunders, who noted that Plainville typically saw 25 percent voter turnout rate for local elections and 60 to 70 percent for presidential elections.

“I want to offer a big thank you to everybody involved,” said Cox, 21, who will serve his first term.

“I’m happy we still have four council members, whether it is myself or Ty,” said Danny Carrier, who was not re-elected.

Democratic councilor elect Gnazzo said that he was thankful for the people of Plainville for electing him.

“As I’ve said throughout my campaign I will do my best to serve them regardless of how many members of each party sit on the council,” he said.

The Republicans had nominated Carrier, Cox, Pugliese, Saunders and Tompkins for Town Council. The Democrats had nominated Robert Ciotto, Morante, Wazorko, Gnazzo and Richard Ireland Jr. John Kisluk was a write-in candidate and Wayne Fisch was a petitioning candidate.

The people of Plainville also voted Republicans Nicole Palmieri and Andrea Saunders and Democrats Kathleen Wells and Becky Tyrell onto the Board of Education.

“I am very humbled and honored that the residents of Plainville trust me with this and I could not be more excited to serve,” said Republican Board of Education member Palmieri.

The Democrats had nominated Tyrell, Rebecca Martinez and Wells for the Board of Education and the Republicans had nominated Lori L. Consalvo, Deborah Hardy, Palmieri and Andrea Saunders for the Board.

The constable race saw Democrats Kathleen Michalik, Cheryl Castonguay, Shelly Johnson and Rebecca Ireland selected along with Republicans Adam Bergenty, Ezio Capozzi Jr. and Roberta Lalama.

The Republicans had nominated Adam Bergenty, Ezio Capozzi Jr., Robert Lalama and Joyce Schrey. The Democratic constable candidates included Kathleen Michalik, Cheryl Castonguay, Shelley Johnson and Joseph Klepacki.

Finally, Democratic candidate Rebecca Ireland and Republican candidate Jay Steeves were both appointed to the two library trustee positions.

Posted in New Britain Herald, General News, Plainville on Tuesday, 7 November 2017 21:54. Updated: Tuesday, 7 November 2017 21:57.