Tuesday elections drew 30% of NB voters

Published on Wednesday, 8 November 2017 21:43
Written by Skyler Frazer

Staff Writer

NEW BRITAIN - The cty’s municipal elections brought out 9,741 voters Tuesday, representing about 30 percent of the city’s registered voters.

Erin Stewart, the incumbent Republican mayor, received 5,395 votes to secure her third term, defeating out Democratic challenger Merrill Gay, with 4,306 votes, and petitioning candidate Al Mayo, with 40.

Stewart will have a much different Common Council to work with for the next two years, with the Democratic slate picking up six seats to gain a 9-6 majority on the council.

Here is a look at what municipal offices look like in New Britain following Tuesday’s elections:


Erin Stewart, Republican

Common Council

There are 15 seats on the Common Council. Ten of them belong to Democrats, though Democratic Daniel Salerno is endorsed by the Republicans. Three council seats are held by Republicans and two seats are held by unaffiliated aldermen endorsed by Republicans.

Ward 1

Jamie Giantonio, Republican

Willie Pabon, Republican

Ward 2

Kristian Rosado, unaffiliated endorsed by Republicans

Brian Keith Albert, Democrat

Ward 3

Aram Ayalon, Democrat

Iris Sanchez, Democrat

Ward 4

Don Naples, unaffiliated endorsed by Republicans

Robert Smedley, Republican

Ward 5

Carlo Carlozzi, Democrat

Francisco Santiago, Democrat

At large

Daniel Salerno, Democrat endorsed by Republicans

Emmanuel Sanchez, Democrat

Eva Magnuszewski, Democrat

Katie Breslin, Democrat

Richard Reyes, Democrat

Board of Education

The Board of Education has 10 members. The president and vice president must be from different parties.

The board’s current president is Nicholas Mercier and Nicole Rodriguez is the board’s vice president.

Every two years, five board members are up for re-election. In 2019, they will be Grisselle Aponte, Gayle Sanders-Connolly, Catherine Cheney, Merrill Gay and Nicole Rodriguez.

Current members are:

Nicholas Mercier, Republican

Grisselle Aponte, Republican

Gayle Sanders-Connolly, Republican

Catherine Cheney, Republican

Nancy Rodriguez, Republican

Merrill Gay, Democrat

Nicole Rodriguez, Democrat

Daisy Sanchez, Democrat

Violet Sims, Democrat

Annie S. Parker, Democrat

Town clerk

Mark Bernacki, Republican

Tax collector

Cheryl Blogoslawski, Republican


Ron Jakubowski, Democrat

Board of Assessment Appeals

Todd Cheney, Republican

Wyatt Bosworth, Democrat

Georgette Cicero, Democrat


Alan Zaniewski, Republican

Richard Moreno, Republican

Sean Steele, Republican

Tom Talalaj, Republican

Peter Spano, Democrat

Thomas Shields, Democrat

Wilfredo Justiniano, Democrat

Patrice Smith, Democrat

Posted in New Britain Herald, General News, New Britain on Wednesday, 8 November 2017 21:43. Updated: Wednesday, 8 November 2017 21:45.