Votes still being tallied in General Assembly races

Published on Tuesday, 6 November 2018 21:25
Written by Skyler Frazer


Voters in the state took to the polls from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday to vote for members of the Connecticut’s next General Assembly.

Results weren’t available by press time, but here is a list of all the races and their candidates from New Britain, Berlin, Newington, Plainville and Southington in Tuesday’s midterm election. Check for updated Election Day results.


In House District 22, which covers Plainville and part of New Britain, incumbent Republican William Petit was challenged by Democrat Richard Ireland for the seat. Petit was first elected in 2016, and Ireland currently chairs Plainville’s Recycling and Solid Waste Commission.

House District 24, covering New Britain and part of Newington, was a race between incumbent Democrat Rick Lopes and “purple candidate” Sharon Beloin-Saavedra. Lopes is an ex-alderman and has represented the city in the state legislature since 2012. Beloin-Saavedra, a Democrat running on the Republican ticket, is also an ex-city council member and is a former president of the New Britain Board of Education.

Incumbent Democratic state. Rep. Robert Sanchez, who has represented House District 25 since 2011, had little competition in his reelection campaign, only facing write-in candidate Al Mayo. House District 25 is entirely in New Britain.

The House District 26 race, also located entirely in New Britain, saw the city’s longest-running incumbent, Democrat Peter Tercyak, challenged by Republican Tremell Collins. Tercyak was first elected in 2003, serving for the last 15 years. Collins is an ex-alderman and is currently on the city’s Fire Commission.

In House District 27, encompassing Newington, incumbent Republican Gary Byron was challenged by Democrat Gary Turco.

House District 29, representing Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield, is an open race. Republican Andrew Lanciotto and Democrat Kerry Szepswood were both vying for the seat.

House District 80, which includes Southington and Wolcott, was an open race between Democrat David Borzellino, Republican Gale Mastrofrancesco and nonpartisan candidate Benjamin Conroy.

In House District 81, entirely in Southington, incumbent Republican John Fusco was challenged by Democrat Ryan Rogers.

House District 83, which includes Berlin and Meriden, was a race between incumbent Democrat Catherine Abercrombie, Republican Lou Arata and Libertarian Robert Misbach.

In House District 103, which includes part of Southington and Cheshire, incumbent Democrat Liz Linehan was challenged by Republican Diane Pagano. Linehan was first elected to the seat in 2016 and is a former town councilor in Cheshire. Pagano is a business owner.


In Senate District 6, covering New Britain, Berlin and Farmington, incumbent Democrat Terry Gerratana was challenged by Republican Alderman Robert Smedley. Gerratana has been a state senator since 2011, but her history as a legislator goes back further, as she also served in the House of Representatives from 1993 to 2003. Smedley has been on the Common Council representing Ward 4 since 2013 and is currently the council’s minority leader.

Senate District 9, representing Newington, Cromwell, Middletown, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield was an open race. Democrat Matt Lesser and Republican Ed Charamut were competing for the seat.

Senate District 16, representing Southington, Cheshire, Prospect, Waterbury and Wolcott, was a competition between Republican state Rep. Rob Sampson, R-Southington, and Democrat Vickie Nardello, a former state Rep. for House District 89. This Senate seat was left open with incumbent Republican Joe Markley running for lieutenant governor on Bob Stefanowski’s ticket.

Senate District 31, encompassing Plainville as well as Bristol, Harwinton, Plymouth and Thomaston, was a race between incumbent Republican Henri Martin and Democrat Chris Wright.

Check for full results.

Skyler Frazer can be reached at 860-801-5087 or by email at

Posted in New Britain Herald, General News on Tuesday, 6 November 2018 21:25. Updated: Tuesday, 6 November 2018 21:27.