Former US Open winners Koepka, Simpson, McDowell commit to play at Travelers Championship

Published on Monday, 11 June 2018 21:14
Written by TYLER ROAIX


HARTFORD - Just a week away, the Travelers Championship announced the additions off three more major winners to an already deep Monday.

Brooks Koepka, Webb Simpson and Graeme McDowell all signed on to compete in this season’s Travelers. All three are previous winners of the U.S. Open with Koepka winning last year, Simpson in 2012 and McDowell in 2010.

“With five of the top 10 players in the world now committed to the Travelers Championship, the stage is being set for a great tournament,” tournament director Nathan Grube said in a statement. “We’re excited to have Brooks and Webb return to TPC River Highlands and welcome Graeme. You can feel the excitement building for our tournament and adding this group of major champions certainly adds to it.”

Koepka, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rory McIlroy and Jason Day are the five top-10 players currently in the field.

The 28-year-old Koepka is the ninth ranked player in the World Golf Rankings. Koepka won the U.S. Open last season with a 16-under to win his first career major tournament. This will be his third Travelers, having finished ninth in 2016 and 27th in 2014. He has two runner-up finishes this season, at the HSBC Champions and the Fort Worth Invitational.

Simpson won the Players Championship last month by four strokes to pick up his fifth career PGA Tour win. He has appeared at the Travelers eight times in his career, never missing the cut. Simpson is s currently No. 21 in the Official World Golf Ranking.

McDowell has represented Europe in four Ryder Cups. He will be making his Travelers debut.

The 2018 Travelers Championship will be held June 18-24.

Tyler Roaix can be reached at

Posted in New Britain Herald, General Sports on Monday, 11 June 2018 21:14. Updated: Monday, 11 June 2018 21:17.