Little League Eastern Regional Softball Preview: 10 teams begin journey to Portland, Ore.

Published on Friday, 20 July 2018 21:04


The final stop along the way to the Little League Softball World Series in Portland, Ore., the Little League Softball Eastern Region Tournament will begin today at the A. Bartlett Giamatti Little League Training Center’s Leon J. Breen Field as 10 regional state champions begin their quest.

Connecticut is represented by Fairfield Girls Softball Little League, which edged Groton/Mystic 2-1 this past Sunday to claim the state championship. Fairfield has outscored its opponents 50-7 in six games since winning the District 5 title.

Other teams competing include: Massachusetts champion Peabody Tanners Softball Little League, Rhode Island champion Cranston National Budlong Little League, New York champion South Shore American Little League of Staten Island, New Jersey champion Bordentown Little League, Vermont champion Northwest Little League of Swanton, Pennsylvania champion Tunkhannock Little League, Maine champion York Little League, Delaware champion Lower Sussex Little League of Frankford and Maryland champion Tri City Little League of Hurlock.

Double-elimination tournament play begins today with New Jersey facing Connecticut at 10 a.m., followed by three more games. An opening ceremony will be held at 6:45 p.m. The championship game is scheduled for Thursday, July 26, at noon.

There is no admission charge for any Little League Tournament, although the organization does accept donations to aid in funding its programs. All softball tournament games this year will also be streamed live on ESPN+, available for a fee through the new ESPN app.

Posted in New Britain Herald, General Sports on Friday, 20 July 2018 21:04. Updated: Friday, 20 July 2018 21:06.