CIAC names 22 schools as recipients of '20-21 Michaels Achievement Cup Award

Published on Friday, 17 December 2021 16:23
Written by TYLER HETU


The Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference announced its list of 22 high schools that will be honored with the 2020-21 Michaels Achievement Cup Award on Friday.

The award is handed out annually to schools that are a part of the CIAC’s Class Act Program, which was started in the early 1980’s by Roy Michaels, the owner of Michaels Jewelery, in an effort to recognize outstanding athletics programs at the high school level in the state.

Schools receiving the award include Academy of Aerospace and Engineering, Academy of Science and Innovation, Amity Regional High School, Bethel High School, Bloomfield High School, Brookfield High School, Cheshire High School, Civic Leadership High School, Granby Memorial High School, Joel Barlow High School, Ledyard High School, Masuk High School, Metropolitan Learning Center, Lyme-Old Lyme High School, Newtown High School, Oliver Wolcott Technical High School, Simsbury High School, Stamford High School, The Woodstock Academy, Westbrook High School, Weston High School and Wilton High School.

Bloomfield, Wolcott Tech, Simsbury and Westbrook receive the honor for the fifth consecutive year. Amity, Brookfield and Cheshire have been recipients of the away for what will be the fourth time in five years and Joel Barlow, Ledyard, Lyme-Old Lyme and Weston are recipients for the third consecutive year.

The Michaels Cup Committee recognizes these programs for their willingness to subscribe to the Class Act Sportsmanship standards, which empowers students to take an active role in school activities and day-to-day duties while also remaining an active member in the community. The schools recognized have made sportsmanship a priority in the district with it reflecting on the field or in the gym.

The schools will be formally recognized during the CIAC’s virtual Sportsmanship Conference on January 28th.

Posted in New Britain Herald, Innovation on Friday, 17 December 2021 16:23. Updated: Friday, 17 December 2021 16:25.