YWCA to honor 50 women at Women in Leadership Luncheon

Published on Friday, 19 April 2019 20:11
Written by Michelle France


SOUTHINGTON - More than 50 women who live, work, or go to school in Central Connecticut will be honored at the YWCA’s 18th biennial Women in Leadership Luncheon.

The luncheon is scheduled from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Aqua Turf Club on Thursday, May 9. Tickets are $50 per person.

The event will recognize women in Central Connecticut who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and outstanding achievements. Since the event was established in 1985, more than 650 women have been honored.

Anat Baron, CEO of tech start-up Stashwall Inc., will be the featured speaker. Baron is an entrepreneur, brand builder, and the former head of Mike’s Hard Lemonade.

Sponsors include Hospital for Special Care, TD Bank, Webster Bank, Hospital of Central Connecticut, Stanley Black & Decker, Wheeler Clinic, Gordon and Rees LLP, Okay Industries, Community Foundation of Greater New Britain, New Britain Transportation Company and Spring Brook Ice and Fuel.

The following women will be honored at the luncheon and inducted into the Carol R. Virostek Academy of Women Leaders:

Lillian Agostini, Volunter, CCARC, Inc., and owner, New Britain Transportation Company.

Ann Anderson, coordinator for Feed the Need Ministry, South Congregational First Baptist Church.

Francine Austin, past president, New Britain Lions Club.

Marie Bachand, vice president North Oak Neighborhood Revitalization Zone.

Giselle Benitez, production lead, Okay Industries, Inc.

Rose Booker, food service manager, CW Resources, Inc.

Donna Clark, senior warden, St. Mark’s Episcopal Church.

Ivonne Daigle, director of day services, Bristol Adult Resource Center, Inc.

Athena Dellas, chief financial officer, Wheeler Clinic.

Myrna Garcia-Bowen, director, Transfer & Articulation, Central Connecticut State University.

Paula Gilberto, president and CEO, United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut.

Alexandrea Isaac, general counsel, Starion Energy, Inc.

Nancy Kroeber, board member, Connecticut Breast Health Initiative.

Jill Larmett, disability resource coordinator, Capital Workforce Partners.

Nella Lastrina, executive administrator, Greater New Britain Chamber of Commerce.

Elaine Lechowicz, secretary, Arch Area Neighborhood Revitalization Zone.

Michelle Lewis, organizational assistant, Connecticut Breast Health Initiative.

Nelba Marquez-Greene, founder and executive director, Ana Grace Project.

Barbara Marzi, executive assistant and development coordinator, CCARC, Inc.

Jessica Parlapiano, accounting payroll administrator, CW Resources, Inc.

Janice Pina, assistant principal, Slade Middle School, Consolidated School District of New Britain.

Lynn Ricci, chairperson, Community Foundation of Greater New Britain and president and CEO, Hospital for Special Care.

Kimberly Selvaggi, executive director, LISA, Inc.

Kim Sirois Pita, founder and owner, Pita Peaces.

Dayna Snell, executive director, Queen Ann Nzinga Center.

Ashley Stone, founder and owner, Beauty Entourage and BE Salon and Studio.

Julie Swan, community service officer, New Britain Police Department.

Zulma Toro, president, Central Connecticut State University.

Tamara Vrabely, accounting manager and acting corporate secretary, Okay Industries, Inc.

Galina Wolinetz, head of integration management, Stanley Black & Decker.

Jenifer Yarsawich, detective, New Britain Police Department.

Student honorees include:

Amal Al-Hidalmi, Southington High School

Flore Barrillon, Conard High School

Alisha Chhabra, Rocky Hill High School

Claudia Cupe, Asnuntuck Community College

Taylor Domingue, Bristol Eastern High School

Annette Figueroa, Lincoln Technical Institute

Gillian Gereg, Farmington High School

Sonya Hadley, Middletown High School

Jenna Liseo, Cromwell High School

Sage Maier, Tunxis Community College

Sarah McAuliffe, St. Paul Catholic High School

Ebaa Mohmed, New Britain High School

Emma Moore, Wethersfield High School

Demesis Negron Figueroa, Central Connecticut State University

Keagan Ostop, Northwest Catholic High School

Victoria Pham, Conard High School

Daneirys Rivera, E.C. Goodwin Technical High School

Emma Roski, Berlin High School

Isabella Russo, University of St. Joseph

Jenna Scanlon, Newington High School

For more information on sponsorship, advertising, or attending the event contact Jill Crandall White at 860-225-4681 ext. 295 or email her at: jcwhite@ywcanewbritain.org.

For more information, visit ywcanb.org

Michelle France can be reached at 860-801-5087 or mfrance@centralctcommunications.com.


WHAT: Women in Leadership Luncheon

WHEN: Thursday, May 9

WHERE: Aqua Turf Club

PRICE: $50 per person

Posted in New Britain Herald, New Britain on Friday, 19 April 2019 20:11. Updated: Friday, 19 April 2019 20:13.