The votes are in: New Britain's election by the numbers

Published on Thursday, 7 November 2019 16:35
Written by Catherine Shen


NEW BRITAIN - Election Day is history and New Britain voters have chosen the people they want to govern their city.

Mayor Erin Stewart took the mayoral victory with 6,013 votes giving her a fourth term, while first-time Democratic candidate Chris Porcher received 3,592 votes. Deivone Tanksley, an independent also running for the first time, took in 187 votes.

On the Common Council, incumbent Daniel Salerno and newcomer Sharon Beloin-Saavedra, both Democrats but endorsed only by the Republican Party, won at-large seats. Salerno received 4,544 votes and Beloin-Saavedra 4,365.

The remaining three seats were taken by Democratic candidates: Chris Anderson with 4,204 votes, incumbent Richard Reyes with 4,217, and incumbent Manny Sanchez with 4,756.

Republican incumbent Wilfredo Pabon took 1,419 votes and Republican candidate Howard Dyson took 1,363, taking Ward 1. In Ward 2, Republican incumbent Kristian Rosado got 728 votes while Democratic candidate Colin Osborn received 625 votes.

Ward 3 saw a Democratic win with incumbents Iris Sanchez taking 739 votes and Aram Ayalon taking 665 votes.

Republican incumbent Robert Smedley got 890 votes and Republican candidate Michael Thompson took 827, taking Ward 4. In Ward 5, the victors were Democratic incumbent Francisco Santiago with 1,112 votes and Republican newcomer Kris Rutkowski with 1,114.

The five seats on the Board of Education went to Democratic candidates Monica Dawkins with 4,327 votes and Diane Leja with 4,016 votes, and Democratic incumbent Merrill Gay with 4,322, and Republican incumbent Gayle Sanders-Connolly with 4,161 votes and Republican candidate Anthony Kane with 4,070.

Seats on the Board of Assessment Appeals went to Democrat Nathan Simpson with 4,386 votes and Republicans Todd Cheney with 4,180 and Alden Russell with 4,051.

Winners of constable positions were Democrats Suzanne Bielinski with 4,453 votes, Patrice Smith with 4,186 and Thomas Shields with 3,926, and Republican Alan Zaniewski with 4,117 votes.

Republican Cheryl Blogoslawski is the new tax collector, winning 5,036 votes and Democrat Ronald Jakubowski is the new treasurer after getting 4,796.

According to the city’s registrars of voters, about 25% of the city’s registered and active voters cast ballots on Tuesday. This means 9,223 of roughly 31,000 registered and active voters went to the polling stations. Some 5,000 registered voters are inactive.

The city received 443 absentee ballots and 60 people registered to vote on Election Day.

Lucian Pawlak, the city’s Democratic registrar and a former mayor, said the numbers were much lower compared to previous years. The voter turnout in 2018’s election for lawmakers at the state and national levels was about 35%.

This was one of the lower mayoral election turnouts in recent history, he said.

Contact Catherine Shen at 860-801-5093 or

Posted in New Britain Herald, New Britain on Thursday, 7 November 2019 16:35. Updated: Thursday, 7 November 2019 16:38.