Berlin has best team finish, Southington's L'Heureaux has best individual score for local teams at CCC championship

Published on Thursday, 1 June 2017 22:36


NEW BRITAIN - The CCC golf tournament took place at Stanley Golf Course on Thursday and five local teams competed out of 27 teams total.

Berlin had the most success as a team finishing seventh scoring a 327, followed closely by Southington, who finished eighth with a 329 and Newington, who finished ninth with a 332.

Plainville finished in last place of the team’s that had enough scores to qualify as its four golfers combined to shoot a 444.

New Britain had three golfers compete but didn’t have a fourth and therefore could not submit a team score.

Individually it was a Blue Knight that had the best day of the local school. Nate L’Heureaux shot a 77 which tied him for 11th place.

Three local golfers then tied for 14th place while shooting a 79, two of them Redcoats. Ricky Nappi and Mike Califiore were the top golfers on this day for Berlin, while Newington’s Noah Hedberg put up the top score for his team.

Another Indian followed Hedberg as Ben Weyman shot an 80, which earned him a 20th place finish.

Other notable local scores were Berlin’s Spencer Duke who shot an 83 which put him in 38th place, Zach Bartolini who shot a 92 which was the top score for Plainville and Kevin Merkle, who also shot a 92, the top score for New Britain golfers.

Avon took home the team crown is it shot a 309 to barely edge out Wethersfield who shot a 310. Northwest Catholic, Conard and Simsbury rounded out the top five.

As far as individuals go Wethersfield’s A.J. Sanzaro was the medalist and beat the second place golfer by two strokes with his 69. In second place was Northwest Catholic’s Justin Defina, who shot a 71 and Mac Mahoney of Hall shot a 73 to earn third place honors. After the top three, three different golfers shot a 74 to tie for fourth place.

Posted in New Britain Herald, Berlin, General Sports, New Britain, Newington, Plainville, Southington on Thursday, 1 June 2017 22:36. Updated: Thursday, 1 June 2017 22:38.