Four former UConn women's basketball players to start in WNBA All-Star Game

Published on Friday, 27 July 2018 21:11
Written by

Staff report

MINNEAPOLIS - Four former UConn women’s basketball players are among the starters announced by the WNBA on Friday night for its 15th annual All-Star Game.

The format features “Team Delle Donne” against “Team Parker,” with starters selected by All-Star captains Elena Delle Donne of the Washington Mystics and Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks, along with their respective head coaches, Dan Hughes of the Seattle Storm and Sandy Brondello of the Phoenix Mercury.

Joining Delle Donne in the frontcourt for Team Delle Donne will be the Minnesota Lynx’s Sylvia Fowles and Seattle’s Breanna Stewart. The Storm’s Sue Bird and Phoenix’s Diana Taurasi will start in the backcourt.

Stewart, Bird and Taurasi are all former Huskies.

The frontcourt for Team Parker will feature Parker, the Dallas Wings’ Liz Cambage and Minnesota’s Maya Moore, another former Husky. The Sparks’ Chelsea Gray and the Atlanta Dream’s Angel McCoughtry will start in the backcourt.

The All-Star Game will be held on Saturday, starting at 3:30 p.m. at Target Center in Minneapolis.

It will be broadcast live by ABC.

Posted in New Britain Herald, UConn on Friday, 27 July 2018 21:11. Updated: Friday, 27 July 2018 21:13.