A&E

Top Story

kicking-off-summer-with-music
Kicking off summer with music

By Michelle Jalbert Special to the Press BRISTOL - The Bristol Public Library’s Coffee House Concert Series is turning up the volume…

icon Posted: 23 June 2017 [05:28 PM]

Recent Headlines

Thursday 06/22/2017
west-coast-art-exhibit-opening-at-nbmaa West Coast art exhibit opening at NBMAA
icon Posted: 22 June 2017 [10:05 PM]

NEW BRITAIN -West Coast artists Billy Al Bengston and Ed Ruscha spoke to a sold-out audience at the New Britain Museum of…

Tuesday 06/20/2017
Monday 06/19/2017
Sunday 06/18/2017
Friday 06/16/2017
Wednesday 06/14/2017
open-mic-night-goes-outdoors-today Open Mic Night goes outdoors today
icon Posted: 14 June 2017 [10:29 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - With the arrival of summer weather, the Artists’ Cooperative will host its monthly Open Mic Night outdoors for the…

Saturday 06/10/2017
wings-and-wheels-festival-draws-steady-crowd Wings and Wheels Festival draws steady crowd
icon Posted: 10 June 2017 [11:29 PM]

PLAINVILLE - Robertson Airport has perhaps never seen so many wide-eyed children admiring all the airplanes and helicopters landing and taking off…

Friday 06/09/2017
Thursday 06/08/2017
weekend-best-bets-in-new-britain Weekend best bets in New Britain
icon Posted: 08 June 2017 [08:55 PM]

Here’s a look at notable events happening in New Britain this weekend: Reading club kick-off The New Britain Public Library, 20 High…

Wednesday 06/07/2017
Sunday 06/04/2017
local-auditions-set-for-telemundo-talent-search Local auditions set for Telemundo talent search
icon Posted: 04 June 2017 [10:34 PM]

NEW BRITAIN – McDonald’s restaurants in Connecticut and Western Massachusetts are partnering again this year with television network Telemundo to host the…

two-halo-awards-for-nbhss-little-mermaid Two Halo Awards for NBHS's 'Little Mermaid'
icon Posted: 04 June 2017 [10:27 PM]

NEW BRITAIN – The New Britain High School Music Department exited, stage left, Thursday with two Halo Awards from Waterbury’s Seven Angels…

Saturday 06/03/2017
music-store-opens-on-a-high-note Music store opens on a high note
icon Posted: 03 June 2017 [11:48 PM]

PLAINVILLE - Corey Martel, owner of Martel Music at 1 Whiting St., will hold his grand opening June 10, aiming to make…

photo-exhibit-emphasizes-caribbean-color-palette Photo exhibit emphasizes Caribbean color palette
icon Posted: 03 June 2017 [11:47 PM]

PLAINVILLE - Local photographer Wendell Copeland has a new exhibit at the Plainville Senior Center through June titled “Caribbean Colors.” The display…

Friday 06/02/2017
best-bets Best Bets
icon Posted: 02 June 2017 [05:49 PM]

Here’s a roundup of events taking place this weekend in New Britain:   Political maneuvering, angry aristocrats, backstabbing treachery - all too…

Tuesday 05/30/2017
nbhs-production-up-for-several-awards NBHS production up for several awards
icon Posted: 30 May 2017 [10:50 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - New Britain High School’s Music Department’s March production of “Disney’s The Little Mermaid” has been nominated for numerous statewide…

Monday 05/29/2017
Saturday 05/27/2017
ccarc-art-show-set-for-thursday CCARC art show set for Thursday
icon Posted: 27 May 2017 [10:22 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - New Britain CCARC is hosting its fifth annual art show on Thursday, featuring about 80 pieces of artwork created…

Friday 05/26/2017
Thursday 05/25/2017
best-bets-in-new-britain-this-weekend Best Bets in New Britain this weekend
icon Posted: 25 May 2017 [09:30 PM]

Here’s a roundup of events taking place this weekend in New Britain:   Political maneuvering, angry aristocrats, backstabbing treachery - all too…

Wednesday 05/24/2017
popup-shopping-bazaar-returns Pop-up shopping bazaar returns
icon Posted: 24 May 2017 [10:50 PM]

Special to the Herald NEW BRITAIN - Beginning this Saturday, the New Britain Museum of American Art at 56 Lexington St. will…

Tuesday 05/23/2017
Monday 05/22/2017
Sunday 05/21/2017
rose-garden-festival-set-for-june-17 Rose Garden Festival set for June 17
icon Posted: 21 May 2017 [11:10 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - The fourth annual New Britain Rose Garden Festival is a little less than a month away. The New Britain…

Saturday 05/20/2017
graduates-of-ccsus-class-of-2017 Graduates of CCSU's Class of 2017
icon Posted: 20 May 2017 [09:26 PM]

Sebastian Gerardus Addamo, B.A., Berlin Elizabeth Ann Alessi, B.A., Berlin Christopher Robert Dudanowicz, B.A., Berlin Lindsey E. Hoffman,…

Thursday 05/18/2017
weekend-best-bets Weekend Best Bets
icon Posted: 18 May 2017 [11:00 PM]

Here’s a roundup of events taking place in and around New Britain: SOUTHINGTON - A group of local musicians will perform…

Friday 05/12/2017
Thursday 05/11/2017
this-weekends-best-bets This weekend's Best Bets
icon Posted: 11 May 2017 [09:11 PM]

Here’s a roundup of events taking place this weekend in and around New Britain: First Friday on the second Friday The…

Tuesday 05/09/2017
Thursday 05/04/2017
best-bets Best Bets
icon Posted: 04 May 2017 [09:54 PM]

Prince and the Pauper The New Britain Youth Theater debuts a Mark Twain classic with a theatrical twist tonight. In the…

Sunday 04/30/2017
Saturday 04/29/2017
new-deputy-director-joins-art-museum New deputy director joins art museum
icon Posted: 29 April 2017 [10:44 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - The New Britain Museum of American Art’s new deputy director will begin May 1. Michelle Hargrave joins the…

Monday 04/17/2017
open-mic-night-on-the-way-in-new-britain Open Mic Night on the way in New Britain
icon Posted: 17 April 2017 [10:52 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - The Artists’ Cooperative will host its monthly Open Mic Night on Thursday. The program begins at 6 p.m. at…

Sunday 04/16/2017
sceneccsu-into-the-woods-opens-april-26 SCENE@CCSU: 'Into the Woods' opens April 26
icon Posted: 16 April 2017 [10:08 PM]

Guest Director “Into The Woods,” a classic of the American musical theater, will be performed at Central Connecticut State University’s Black Box…

Thursday 04/13/2017
Tuesday 04/11/2017
Monday 04/10/2017
Sunday 04/09/2017
gospel-blockbuster-concert-coming-to-new-britain-church Gospel Blockbuster concert coming to New Britain church
icon Posted: 09 April 2017 [09:26 PM]

NEW BRITAIN - Tickets are on sale for the third annual Gospel Blockbuster concert, featuring dozens of regional musicians, early next month. The program will feature Donnie, Darryl and the Joyboyz from Nashville, Robert Williams and the Nu Gospel…