article Print

Spring into music at the orchestra at CCSU in New Britain

Published: Wednesday, 24 April 2019 19:37

Wesley Bunnell | Staff
The New Britain Symphony Orchestra performs at an event last year.
Wesley Bunnell | Staff The New Britain Symphony Orchestra performs at an event last year.


NEW BRITAIN - Spring flowers are out and the New Britain Symphony Orchestra will celebrate the magic of the season with the main stage concert Spring In Bloom featuring garden related music on May 5 at Central Connecticut State University.

The concert starts at 3 p.m. and it will take place at Welte Hall. Spring In Bloom is the last concert of the season for the New Britain Symphony, which is celebrating its 70th anniversary.

Copland’s “Appalachian Spring,” Strauss’ “Roses from the South,” Saint-Saens “Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso,” and Vivaldi’s “Spring from the Four Seasons” will be part of the program which will be led under the baton of guest conductor Edward Cumming. Cumming is the director of orchestral activities at Hartt School of Music and the former director of music for the Hartford Symphony Orchestra, a role he undertook for 10 years. Cumming was also resident conductor of the Pittsburgh Symphony and guest conductor in orchestras across the globe.

The concert will also feature guest violinist Sirena Huang who was the first artist in residence for the Hartford Symphony and made her solo debut when she was 9-years-old in Taiwan. Huang is an award winning violinist including her most recent first prize at the Elmar Oliviera International Violin Competition.

In its 70 years, the New Britain Symphony Orchestra has hosted a number of prominent guest performers including Andre Watts and Victor Borge. The New Britain Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1948 by members of the CCSU music department with the goal of bringing classical music of the highest caliber to the Greater New Britain communities.

There will be a pre-concert talk by Cumming from 2 to 2:30 p.m. and an opportunity to meet him after the concert as well.

Learn more about the orchestra at