General News

Top Story

headless-chickens-found-in-connecticut-courtroom
Headless chickens found in Connecticut courtroom

BRIDGEPORT - Authorities in Connecticut are investigating the discovery of two decapitated chickens inside a courtroom. Judicial marshals and maintenance staff investigating…

icon Posted: 18 January 2018 [12:15 PM]

Recent Headlines

Wednesday 01/17/2018
Tuesday 01/16/2018
Monday 01/15/2018
southington-police-blotter Southington police blotter
icon Posted: 15 January 2018 [08:26 PM]

Southington police report the following: Leonard Ceta, 46, of 108 DeFashion St., Plantsville, was charged Dec. 26 with improper tethering.…

southington-chamber-announces-new-director Southington chamber announces new director
icon Posted: 15 January 2018 [08:02 PM]

@brianjohnsonBP SOUTHINGTON - The Southington Chamber of Commerce has announced that Interim Executive Director Taylor Crofton has now been appointed to the…

Sunday 01/14/2018
Friday 01/12/2018
hoops-for-homeless-to-add-four-new-board-members Hoops for Homeless to add four new board members
icon Posted: 12 January 2018 [06:49 PM]

@ADeRosaNBH NEW BRITAIN-A group of volunteers from several educational, social and civic organizations will host a press conference Wednesday to kickoff the…

Thursday 01/11/2018
museum-to-welcome-historic-clock-home Museum to welcome historic clock 'home'
icon Posted: 11 January 2018 [10:15 PM]

@coricaBP THOMASTON - The Railroad Museum of New England recently acquired a 1926 Seth Thomas No. 2 Regulator clock and is…

Wednesday 01/10/2018
tunxis-to-offer-emt-basic-training-in-bristol Tunxis to offer EMT basic training in Bristol
icon Posted: 10 January 2018 [10:16 PM]

FARMINGTON -- Tunxis Community College will offer an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Basic Training course in Bristol starting in February. The…

Tuesday 01/09/2018
body-found-in-burned-connecticut-home Body found in burned Connecticut home
icon Posted: 09 January 2018 [10:49 AM]

EAST HADDAM - Authorities say a body has been found in a Connecticut home that burned. The body was found after the…

Monday 01/08/2018
Sunday 01/07/2018
Saturday 01/06/2018
crews-battle-industrial-fire-in-plainville Crews battle industrial fire in Plainville
icon Posted: 06 January 2018 [06:20 PM]

@BURGIOBP PLAINVILLE - Firefighters responded to a fully evolved fire in an industrial building at 15 Cronk Road Saturday evening. Fire departments…

Friday 01/05/2018
Thursday 01/04/2018
schools-closed-on-friday-in-all-area-towns Schools closed on Friday in all area towns
icon Posted: 04 January 2018 [08:10 PM]

All area schools have announced school is canceled on Friday. New Britain, Bristol, Southington Plainville, Berlin, Newington and Plymouth officials…

Wednesday 01/03/2018
Tuesday 01/02/2018
14-inches-of-snow-expected-tonight-thursday 1-4 inches of snow expected tonight, Thursday
icon Posted: 02 January 2018 [10:50 PM]

Special to The Herald NEW BRITAIN - New Britain and surrounding communities are expecting snow late tonight and continuing through Thursday.…

Monday 01/01/2018
Sunday 12/31/2017
our-view-our-wish-list-for-2018 OUR VIEW: Our wish list for 2018
icon Posted: 31 December 2017 [09:46 PM]

In recent years, we’ve used this space to share with you our hopes and dreams for the coming year. This is our…