Newington


Top Story

Recent Headlines

Monday 01/07/2019
Sunday 01/06/2019
Friday 01/04/2019
Tuesday 01/01/2019
newington-charity-raises-over-10000 Newington charity raises over $10,000
icon Posted: 01 January 2019 [08:40 PM]

NEWINGTON - The Greater Newington Charitable Society’s second annual charity benefit raised over $10,000 in November. At least 175 people…

Sunday 12/30/2018
Friday 12/28/2018
Sunday 12/16/2018
Wednesday 12/12/2018
Monday 12/10/2018
car-catches-fire-in-newington-parking-lot Car catches fire in Newington parking lot
icon Posted: 10 December 2018 [08:58 PM]

NEWINGTON -Firefighters quickly put out a car fire that threatened to engulf two other vehicles early Sunday. Dispatchers received 911…

Wednesday 11/28/2018
renovated-skate-park-open-in-newington Renovated skate park open in Newington
icon Posted: 28 November 2018 [08:49 PM]

NEWINGTON - There’s a new destination in town for skaters and skateboarders. The Clem Lemire Recreation Complex on New Britain Avenue…

Monday 11/26/2018
Wednesday 11/21/2018
Sunday 11/18/2018
longtime-head-of-newington-chamber-retires Longtime head of Newington Chamber retires
icon Posted: 18 November 2018 [08:59 PM]

NEWINGTON - When she was first hired, Gail Whitney was essentially office manager of the Hartford Chamber of Commerce-Newington branch. In…

Sunday 11/11/2018
Wednesday 11/07/2018
Tuesday 11/06/2018
Friday 11/02/2018
Wednesday 10/31/2018
driver-injured-in-newington-accident Driver injured in Newington accident
icon Posted: 31 October 2018 [09:24 PM]

NEWINGTON - An accident that shut down the southbound side of the the Berlin Turnpike Wednesday sent one of the drivers…

Tuesday 10/23/2018
Sunday 10/21/2018
ELECTION 2018: 27th House District: Byron vs. Turco
icon Posted: 21 October 2018 [08:39 PM]

One in a series of stories previewing races in Connecticut’s midterm election. NEWINGTON - Two very different men named Gary are vying for the House of Representatives’ 27th District seat. Republican incumbent Gary Byron hopes to win a third…

Wednesday 10/10/2018
Sunday 10/07/2018
Friday 10/05/2018
flu-shot-clinic-announced Flu shot clinic announced
icon Posted: 05 October 2018 [03:10 PM]

BERLIN - The Central Connecticut Health District strongly encourages all Connecticut residents to attend our POD (Point of Dispensing) flu clinic scheduled…

Wednesday 10/03/2018
Tuesday 10/02/2018
boy-scout-troop-plans-celebration-dinner Boy Scout troop plans celebration dinner
icon Posted: 02 October 2018 [04:41 PM]

Special To The Herald, @SarahRWillson NEWINGTON- The Boy Scout Troop 347 is honoring 70 years of community service by hosting an…

Wednesday 09/26/2018
Friday 09/21/2018
Thursday 09/20/2018
man-involved-in-newington-crash-dies Man involved in Newington crash dies
icon Posted: 20 September 2018 [04:06 PM]

NEWINGTON – A driver involved in a three-vehicle crash on Fenn Road near Cedar Street Wednesday died after being brought to an…

Wednesday 09/19/2018
Sunday 09/16/2018
Meetings this week
icon Posted: 16 September 2018 [09:07 PM]

NEW BRITAIN Today, Sept. 17 Commission on Persons with Disabilities, 5 p.m., Room 202, City Hall, 27 West Main St.; Board of Assessment Appeals, 6 p.m., Room 101, City Hall; Board of Education, 6 p.m., 272 Main St.; Historic Preservation…

Monday 09/10/2018
Sunday 09/09/2018
Sunday 09/02/2018
red-cross-give-blood-get-a-haircut Red Cross: Give blood, get a haircut
icon Posted: 02 September 2018 [08:46 PM]

Special to the Herald The American Red Cross is searching for eligible blood donors in the area to donate to a good…

Nine flu clinics scheduled in October
icon Posted: 02 September 2018 [08:37 PM]

BERLIN - The Central Connecticut Health District will host nine flu clinics in October across the four district towns it serves: Berlin, Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield. Insurance cards for Aetna, Anthem, CIGNA Healthcare, Connecticare, United Healthcare Medicare plans…

Thursday 08/30/2018
Wednesday 08/29/2018
Tuesday 08/28/2018
Monday 08/27/2018