State

Top Story

Recent Headlines

Monday 11/19/2018
Sunday 11/18/2018
Fairfield woman to be charged in death of five dogs
icon Posted: 18 November 2018 [07:31 PM]

FAIRFIELD (AP) - Fairfield police say they’re preparing an arrest warrant for a local woman after five dead dogs were found in her home. Police were called to the home Wednesday after the landlord discovered the carcasses. Authorities said Saturday…

Wednesday 11/14/2018
probe-underway-into-aresimowiczs-complaint Probe underway into Aresimowicz's complaint
icon Posted: 14 November 2018 [09:25 PM]

BERLIN - The State Elections Enforcement Commission is investigating a two-part complaint filed by House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz that involves his…

Thursday 11/08/2018
Wednesday 11/07/2018
lamont-elected-governor Lamont elected governor
icon Posted: 07 November 2018 [08:57 PM]

HARTFORD - Democrat Ned Lamont will be Connecticut’s next governor. After vote tallying extending well into the morning, the gubernatorial race…

Sunday 11/04/2018
Friday 11/02/2018
Obama urges voters to back Lamont
icon Posted: 02 November 2018 [07:59 PM]

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) - Former President Barack Obama is giving a late pitch for Democratic gubernatorial candidate Ned Lamont, promising voters the Greenwich businessman will stand up for "Connecticut values." Lamont's campaign says the radio spot begins airing Thursday. It…

Thursday 11/01/2018
Racial bias investigation at Coast Guard Academy
icon Posted: 01 November 2018 [08:23 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - The Department of Homeland Security’s inspector general is investigating allegations of racial discrimination at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy and inadequate follow-up by the school’s leadership, the agency said Thursday. The investigation will bring a new layer…

Wednesday 10/31/2018
GOP: Campaign mailer offensive to Jews
icon Posted: 31 October 2018 [08:45 PM]

MIDDLETOWN (AP) - The head of Connecticut’s Republican Party acknowledges a campaign mailer sent by a candidate for state Senate was offensive to Jewish people. The mailer from Republican Ed Charamut, of Rocky Hill, includes an image of his Democratic…

Tuesday 10/30/2018
Monday 10/29/2018
Saturday 10/27/2018
Tuesday 10/23/2018
Sandy Hook shooter's writings and belongings to be released
icon Posted: 23 October 2018 [08:44 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - Police must release disturbing writings and other belongings of the Newtown school shooter to the public because they are not exempt from the state’s open record laws, the Connecticut Supreme Court ruled Tuesday. The justices issued a…

Friday 10/19/2018
Thursday 10/18/2018
Hartford police fire 'trigger happy' officer
icon Posted: 18 October 2018 [07:37 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - A white Connecticut police officer caught on video warning a group of mostly black and Hispanic young people not to fight or run away because he was “trigger happy” has been fired. Hartford Police Chief David Rosado…

Wednesday 10/17/2018
Tuesday 10/16/2018
Yale students ask VA to change 'exclusionary' Lincoln quote
icon Posted: 16 October 2018 [08:38 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - The words of Abraham Lincoln are usually revered, but not so for some when it comes to the motto for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Veterans groups and Yale Law School students are asking the VA…

Monday 10/15/2018
Sunday 10/14/2018
Solar-powered 'pump-out' boat launched on Sound
icon Posted: 14 October 2018 [08:22 PM]

BRANFORD (AP) - A new boat dedicated to keeping sewage out of Long Island Sound will be running on clean energy itself. State environmental officials on Monday are helping to launch what is billed as the world’s first full-sized, solar-powered…

Thursday 10/11/2018
Tuesday 10/09/2018
Thursday 10/04/2018
Wednesday 10/03/2018
Rulings on medical marijuana go against employers
icon Posted: 03 October 2018 [08:41 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - Health care worker Katelin Noffsinger told a potential employer that she took medical marijuana to deal with the effects of a car accident, but when a drug test came back positive, the nursing home rescinded…

Ex-judge leads investigation of abuse
icon Posted: 03 October 2018 [08:38 PM]

BRIDGEPORT (AP) - A Roman Catholic diocese in Connecticut announced Wednesday that it has chosen a retired state judge to lead an investigation into sexual abuse of children by priests, a review that will look at allegations and…

Monday 10/01/2018
Former Griebel campaign chief accused of larceny
icon Posted: 01 October 2018 [09:02 PM]

NORWALK (AP) - The former chairman of independent Connecticut gubernatorial candidate Oz Griebel’s campaign has appeared in court on a larceny charge. The Hartford Courant reports that 31-year-old Kyle Lyddy, of Danbury, did not enter a plea Monday. Lyddy was…

Sunday 09/30/2018
New state laws take effect Monday
icon Posted: 30 September 2018 [08:57 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - A ban on bump stocks and new rules for female inmates are among a host of new laws taking effect in Connecticut. Starting Monday, it will be a class D felony, punishable by up to five years…

Wednesday 09/26/2018
Monday 09/24/2018
Sunday 09/23/2018
State to get millions to fight opioids
icon Posted: 23 September 2018 [08:33 PM]

HARTFORD (AP) - Connecticut is receiving more than $20 million from the federal government to boost its efforts to fight the opioid epidemic. Democratic Gov. Dannel P. Malloy said there will be two $11 million grants distributed across two years…

Friday 09/14/2018
Lamont, Stefanowski clash in first debate
icon Posted: 14 September 2018 [07:31 PM]

The two major party candidates for Connecticut governor clashed over their plans to close the state’s budget deficit, criminal justice and other issues Wednesday in a debate that also included acrimonious attacks on each other’s business records. Democrat Ned Lamont…

Thursday 09/13/2018
Wednesday 09/12/2018